

Office of Public Relations 1834 Kongens Gade, Charlotte Amalie * St. Thomas * U.S. Virgin Islands 00802-6746 Telephone: 340.774.0100 Ext. 8136 (STT/STJ) 340.773.1095 Ext. 7064 (STX)

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE April 4, 2024

0403-24

For More Information Contact: Shayla S. Solomon Director, Public Relations & Communications shayla.solomon@vide.vi www.vide.vi ~ www.facebook.com/usvi.vide

Virgin Islands Department of Education Congratulates Ivanna Eudora Kean High School Music Department on Grand Marshal Honor for 2024 Children's Parade

The Virgin Islands Department of Education (VIDE) is proud to extend heartfelt congratulations to the Ivanna Eudora Kean High School (IEKHS) Music Department for being honored as the Grand Marshal of the 2024 St. Thomas Children's Parade during the vibrant Carnival celebrations. This esteemed recognition is a testament to the outstanding musical achievements and dedication exhibited by the students and faculty of Ivanna Eudora Kean High School.

Known for its commitment to excellence and innovation in music education, the Ivanna Eudora Kean High School Music Department has consistently demonstrated exceptional talent and creativity. Through their dedication to musical mastery and performance, they have enriched the cultural fabric of our community and inspired countless individuals.

The Children's Parade, a cherished tradition of Carnival festivities, provides a platform for showcasing the talent and vibrancy of our youth. As Grand Marshal, the Ivanna Eudora Kean High School Music Department will lead the parade with their harmonious melodies and rhythms, and infectious energy, captivating audiences and spreading joy throughout the streets.

The Ivanna Eudora Kean High School's Music Department has participated in Carnival activities for more than 30 years. The IEKHS Dynamite Rays Marching Band performed as their own entity, playing for the IEKHS school's troop, or in combination with the CAHS Marching Hawks. Kean Music Stylez, also known as KMS, has also participated in past parades and the Kean Dynamite Rays Steel Band has actively performed in numerous Pan-O-Ramas and parades.

"We are thrilled to have our very own, Ivanna Eudora Kean High School Music Department recognized by the Division of Festivals as the Grand Marshal of the 2024 Children's Parade. Their dedication to musical excellence and their positive impact on our community exemplify the spirit of Carnival. We commend their hard work and congratulate them on this well-deserved honor," said Commissioner Wells-Hedrington.

"Presently, IEKHS Music department is in a rebuilding phase since the storms of 2017 and Covid in 2020, but we continue to serve the community, as we endeavor to represent to the best of our abilities. We are grateful for the resilience of our students as they continue to push forward in all of their endeavors," said Music Department Chair, Monet I. Davis.

An extra special thank you is extending to the remarkable instructors who have played an integral role in shaping the talents and lives of IEKHS Music students. Past directors of the IEKHS Music Department include Mr. Glenn Elskoe, Mr. Austin A. Venzen, Mr. Levi Farrell, and Ms. Dionne R. Donadelle, who now serves as the Director of Music Education and Programs at the VIDE. Current directors of the IEKHS Music Program include Mr. Anthony Nibbs and Mr. Shamoi Rodgers, under the leadership of Department Chair Monet I. Davis

The VIDE applauds the Ivanna Eudora Kean High School Music Department for their remarkable achievements and contributions to the cultural heritage of the Virgin Islands. We extend our best wishes for a memorable and successful Children's Parade as they lead the festivities with their extraordinary talent and passion for music.

"On behalf of the Ivanna Eudora Kean High School Music Department and the Virgin Islands Department of Education, we would like to thank parents of both past and present students for trusting us with their children's musical futures. We would also like to thank the USVI Division of Festivals for this recognition and hope to continue our participation in the future," said Department Chair Monet Davis.

###